Fab Life

A fathers love

First of all Happy Father’s Day to all the Dad’s out there!

dad quote 2
The most accurate Dad list I’ve found (especially the swearing and burping part!)
It’s been almost 10 years since my sister and I lost our Dad, and I still miss him each and every day.  Some of the memories fade, but the love and respect I had and will always have for him will be present in everything I do in life.  IMG_0037Our Dad was a quiet and highly intelligent giant who showed his love through his support for all the decisions (some not so great!) we made growing up, financially supporting us until we were independent women, and being there when we needed him the most.

IMG_0038
1988 with the parents and Grandparents in England
You can’t get back the time you could have spent with loved ones, so the lesson I’ve learned is to enjoy and embrace those moments now before they are gone.  At the Sacramento TedX conference they showed a clip on StoryCorps, which provides people with the opportunity to record, share and preserve the stories of their lives. This is to remind one another of our shared humanity, to strengthen and build the connections between people, to teach the value of listening, and to weave into the fabric of our culture the understanding that everyone’s story matters. I wish I could go back in time and record a conversation with my Dad; who knows what we’d talk about but it would be interesting to have that moment in time captured.  I recall those conversations in my head and smile when I think of him, and hope he’s smiling back! dad quote

He had the cutest grin ever! 🙂 So for those who get to spend time with your Dad today, give him a hug, have a conversation with him and tell him you love him.  I believe all a Dad wants out of his children is to know he did the best he could to help shape us into the amazing adults we are today! 🙂   dad quote1

 

 

Love to all the great Pops out there!

Leave a Reply

