Fab Life · Let's Give

Less is more

“Today is your day to let go of things that no longer serve you.”

Everyday should be spring cleaning!  We are a society of collecting things, thinking they’ll bring us joy and simplicity for living.  But most of the time this clutter creates stress, frustration and more angst than joy.

Unknown

Even in my modest 900 sq. ft home I’ve found many pockets to store “stuff”, stuff that I don’t need, don’t use and doesn’t do anything for my happiness.  So I’m beginning a serious cleanse of all the material things I don’t need, don’t use, and don’t need to find or create storage space for.  My philosophy is if I haven’t worn it, used it or touched it in 6 months, then out it goes!

images21

 

There are many great articles online and ideas on Pinterest to find de-clutter and organization tips.  But if you don’t know where to start an interesting book is “The Japanese art of decluttering and organizing” by Marie Kondo.  I’ve only read the summary book but it has simple ideas that make minimalism less intimidating.  The theory is don’t clean by room, but by priority.  1) Clothes, 2) books 3) papers 4) everything else.  Put all like items by priority (one at a time or you’ll melt down!) in a common area, then decide what to keep and what to toss/donate.  Her suggestion is to only keep items that give you euphoria.  I choose to keep items I constantly go to/wear, make sure I have no duplicates (why do we really think we need 6 white t-shirts, flip flops in 10 colors/styles, or multiple pairs of skinny jeans), keep only what fits me well, and keep those in good condition (please toss anything that is stained or torn!).

clothesI started 2 weeks ago by cleaning out my guest room closet that had more dresses than the local boutique down the street!  Between my closet and my sister’s cleansing we were able to bring 4 full bags of work and dress clothes down to the Sacramento Women’s Empowerment org, where they have a full closet of clothes the women going thru the program can use for interviews, jobs and everyday life.

shoesTonight I’m continuing my cleaning with shoes; I’m not even a shoe-lover but yet I’ve been able to fill 3 kitchen size garbage bags full of shoes I don’t need!  Being a bit of a tomboy I would say there were more flip flops, boots and sneaks than heels!! I’ll be filling my garage with bags of items that will hopefully serve someone’s needs, and will clear my life just a little bit more!  Can’t wait to get these off to charities that can serve my community.

de clutter

Clean on and re-conquer your home and your peace…namaste!

 

Leave a Reply

