Recipes

Sweet & spicy roasted veggies

I’ll admit right now that I’m not a great cook(my friends can concur!), but I’ve gotta tell ya this thrown together recipe was quite tasty!

image

Take carrots, parsnips & sweet potatoes and cut into like sizes, to ensure cooking consistency.   The carrots will take a little longer so make sure these are cut fairly thin. If I had Brussel spouts I would have added for more color!
Put in a bowl and toss with coconut or cold press organic olive oil and your favorite spices.  I used curry powder, tumeric, garam masala and a little veggie pepper for zest!
Bake on 400° for 15 minutes, turn over and cook another 10-12 minutes or until carrots are cooked through.
To give it a little sweet flavor I took out with 5 minutes left and brushed with coconut nectar;  you could also use honey or molasses depending on diet & sweet tooth!
Pair this with some nutty millet or quinoa and a salad and you’ve got a hearty meal!

Never tried garam masala?? It’s a mixed spice of typically: pepper,  cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg,  cardamom & caraway.  Taste buds watch out!!!  Typically used in Indian style dishes, but great way to spice up any veggie dish, & heck I’ve even seen it as an additive to a smoothie!

One thought on “Sweet & spicy roasted veggies

Leave a Reply

